“How Many More Pounds Do You Need to Lose Before You Finally Stop Insulting Yourself?”

The harsh realities of living a post-weight-loss existence.

Lisa Marie
5 min readDec 6, 2023
Photo by i yunmai on Unsplash

When I first started writing on this platform in 2021, my life was a lot different. I was a college instructor exclusively working from home; since my husband worked 50–60 hour weeks, I was also a full-time housewife. Medium gave me something to focus on that didn’t involve creating lesson plans or scrubbing my bathroom tiles.

I was also 85 pounds heavier at the time. Specifically: I was over 300 pounds and I wore a size 22. (I never wanted to publicly admit that, but I’m at a point now where I’m comfortable doing so.)

When I called myself “fat,” I was absolutely not joking. I was dead serious.

Thus, five months into my writing journey, I banged out my first article about being a fat person:

I remember what prompted that article like it was yesterday: it was a Sunday night, I saw an article about the English singer-songwriter Adele getting…

--

--

Lisa Marie

College instructor + sometimes retailer writing about life, pop culture, and social issues from the POV of a left-leaning elder millennial.