‘You Can Also Help Me,’ said the T.J. Maxx Cashier Who Wouldn’t Stop Badgering a Customer to Open a Store Credit Card

That cashier said the quiet part out loud.

Lisa Marie
8 min readJun 20, 2024
Photo by Patrick Tomasso on Unsplash

Today, a friend who knew I would appreciate it sent me a Daily Dot article. To summarize: a TikTok creator named Taylor Korn posted a video discussing an interaction she had with a cashier at T.J. Maxx, the popular American discount department store. The cashier allegedly continued to canvas Taylor to sign up for a store credit card, although Taylor declined this offer multiple times.

According to the article, the interaction became even more weird when the cashier admitted that they had a quota to fill. Let’s take a look at what the article reports:

[Taylor Korn] says ultimately, she did not feel like adding another credit card to the mix from the retailer would be beneficial to her. That was when the employee explicitly shared that signing up for a credit card would be beneficial to her, specifically.

“I was like, ‘I just don’t really feel like I need it, you know? I love T.J. Maxx, but I don’t really want to open another credit card for no reason. I just don’t think I need it,’” Korn says. “And she’s like, ‘Well not only would you receive the 10% off, 5% cash back at every single one of these stores…

--

--

Lisa Marie

College instructor who writes about life, pop culture, and social issues from the perspective of a left-leaning elder millennial.